Ann Daly moved to Boise, Idaho in 1903 when she was 16 years old (her first 15 years were spent in Quartzburg, Idaho). After graduating from high school, she became a secretary at the Capitol. In 1914, she met and married Harry Morrison, co-founder of the Morrison-Knudsen Company, with whom she traveled the world, visiting the company's construction projects and garnering her the nickname of "First Lady of Construction."
Ann died of leukemia in 1957. Shortly thereafter, Harry bought 153 acres south of the Boise River between Capital Boulevard and Americana Boulevard. The park came to fruition through the combined efforts of the Morrison-Knudsen Company; service clubs; neighborhood organizations; and individuals who donated labor, money, trees, sun dial clocks, and even ducks. Once completed, the park was given to the City of Boise on June 7, 1959.
Mr. Morrison stated the park was built as an "enduring expression of a tender and revered memory" of his beloved wife of 43 years.
For more details about Ann Daly Morrison's exciting life watch the video linked here and find a copy of Those Were the Days: Diary of Ann Morrison (©1951).
Pictures on this page are complements of Special Collections and Archives, Boise State University